BLOG 4: Development as a Future Leader

The quality of a leader has some form of hierarchy within a group, in few scenarios the hierarchy is well defined and formal in nature which means the leader is on top or it is informal and flexible (Nahavandi, 2018). There is no best one way that describes whats an effective leader. The purpose of this blog is to elaborate my development as a leader for the future and what changes have taken place in my skill set through this course and managing experience. 

Image result for leadership

Tranformational Leadership

With all my ongoing MBA experience, I am more inclined to choose to be a transformational leader at I personally think its suitable for business in general. Organisational culture to maintain transformational mode, top management should make the required changes which involves thinking about what style of leadership be adopted (Bass, 2019). Transformational leader boosts motivation, moral of followers, morale and cater to their followers. Transformational leadership is directive and participative in nature (Bass, 2019) which is what I have in mind. I would choose to be this type of leader not only because its what I find the best way but it also personally suitable to me and to what kind of leader I personally want to be.

Image result for transformational leadership
Source: (Summit, 2017)

Learning about Business and Transformational Leadership Style

Leadership and Culture are so deeply correlated to each other that it is evident to describe organisation culture characterised by qualities of transformational leadership. Transformational qualities tends to break expectations in organisational settings. (Xenikou and Simosi, 2006) These types of leaders tend to direct the organisation in the direction of intellectual stimulation, accomplishment and individual consideration. Block (1985) found that employees who saw their supervisor to be pretty familiar with transformational leadership were more involved to follow the organisational culture as integrating, adapted, involving and having a clear mission. (Block, 1985). It can be seen that transformational leadership has a very positive influence on organisational culture and excels businesses in multiple aspects and dimensions.

Turning into the Leader I Choose to be in Future

Time flies by much quickly that we generally expect, its important to ask yourselves what you want to be in the future. I personally want to become a transformational leader as it suits me and is similar to what I want from my future expectations.

Tasks assigned to me n my group at Coventry University.
My group members and I Coordinating to complete the task

My main goal as a part of the group was the coordinate with the members and come up with solutions to complete the tasks given to us in the course module of Leading in the changing world. It is a part of my MBA programme and what I have learnt from it is that when you work in a group, Communication and execution play a crucial role in any kind of team work. The leader stimulates these two aspects which is why the role of the leader is very important. Its always seen that the importance of a leader is sometimes overlooked, you have to also realise that the team you are working with should also be up to the mark as its very important. Instead of looking at the leader that leads the boat, the crew should also be considered very important for the boat to stay floating.

Learning Outcomes

I clearly observed that the group work from this module has given me first hand experience to practically face the hurdles and to find solution within a limited time frame. I made mistakes and didn’t realise it until later when I went back home. It made me realise that its important to have faith in yourself to make people work together and also to have that influence on people and trust for them to open up to you and express their solutions towards the gaols that needed to be achieved. The group work gave me confidence and happiness as it build up my self esteem as a leader. It also made me realise how important work experience is for personal development at multiple levels.

Image result for leadership

From my exposure as to becoming a leader, I have realised that being a leader need a mix of many qualities which involves faith in the future, Innovative vision, effective communication skills, trust and confidence by the followers, Influential traits, etc. All these combined makes the leader unique and differentiate them from the crowd. All the lessons I have learned from this MBA will be carried forward with me in the future for me to become the leader I intended to be.

References

Bass, B. (2019). [online] Citeseerx.ist.psu.edu. Available at: http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/viewdoc/download?doi=10.1.1.560.9456&rep=rep1&type=pdf [Accessed 6 Jan. 2019].

Xenikou, A. and Simosi, M. (2006). Organizational culture and transformational leadership as predictors of business unit performance. Journal of Managerial Psychology, 21(6), pp.566-579.

Eagly, A. and Johannesen-Schmidt, M. (2019). Transformational, Transactional, and Laissez-Faire Leadership Styles: A Meta-Analysis Comparing Women and Men. [online] Studydaddy.com. Available at: https://studydaddy.com/attachment/98473/Transformational.pdf [Accessed 6 Jan. 2019].

10 thoughts on “BLOG 4: Development as a Future Leader”

    1. Thanks!!! I want to be a transformational leader which I think is suitable for what I want but apart from me, it’s important to understand what style would be suitable for a person. It’s important to understand what type of leadership is the right option for different fields of businesses. From politics to business, there isn’t a single leadership style that is the best or suitable for all the situations. I hope you understand it’s very important to value all the aspects of a leader and try embracing these aspects, getting better at these for becoming a successful leader.

      Like

  1. Hey Adheer! Great to know you’ve personally developed from the experiences you’ve had with your group! Well done.
    1st question, could you elaborate what hurdles you have gone through when working with your group and how as a leader you were able to resolute them?
    All in all, great job!

    Like

    1. Thanks for asking for my experiences and yes it has thought me a lot. Coming to the hurdles, when the group work started we had a problem with brain storming of ideas as we had a limited time frame to complete the task. Stress gradually built up as we were going no where half the way of down the timeline of the group work. We eventually completed it but no one knew who had the authority as the group leader wasn’t good at utilising the authority given to her. Later I realised after looking at the whole experience that team work was poor, authority didn’t exist and stress management was poor. If I was the leader, I would firstly take advantage of my position to make it clear who’s expressing their ideas and solutions in an order to make brain storming much more efficient, I would consider everyone’s opinions and ideas in an unbiased way. I would ask questions and make sure everyone is involved and participating in order for the team work to actually work and also provide the reassurance that failing isn’t a big deal at the group work but all we have to do is concentrate at the task given to us to reduce stress management.

      Like

    1. I would like to thank you to take time and go through my blog, hope it has been useful. Firstly, it depends on what kind of organisation and what field of business. If the requirement is skilled labour than definitely training programmes must be implemented. Any job or area of business that involves skills at a high level and also these development programmes are a part Corporate Social Responsibility activities. It helps individuals excel in their personal life and is essential for companies to take morally correct decisions. (Mullins, 2018)

      Like

  2. Why do we need leaders when we can get work done by others who are willingly volunteering to do work and have a life?

    Like

    1. Hey!! Good question! After decades of studies on leadership, we all can say that it’s important for us to have leaders and just not volunteers because of a couple reasons. Leaders are innovative, influential, manage change in the future and show us direction. All these are important business skills which leaders possess, leader’s vision and influence are important traits of a successful business model. Leadership and Business have a lot in common and go hand in hand, good leaders create good business opportunities by their innovative thinking and execution which is needed in this drastically changing business world. Having so many benefits it’s pretty clear that leaders stand out from normal employees or managers. A sense of direction is required to lead the business organisation for which leaders are necessary, Hope ur doubt is cleared Varun.

      Like

  3. How would you explain the scenarios where the leader ends up creating a dictator style of leadership and is running all operations smoothly?

    Like

    1. Interesting question! I have to mention that leadership involves coordination with everyone and valuing everyone’s point of views and opinions. Dictatorship is a kind of leadership which always contains negative structure at a certain extent. Dictatorship can be one sided and not fair in general as all the power is concentrated at one place, which is not recommended. It has certain advantages but leaders who were dictators in the past have mostly been disasters. Things might run smoothly but promises as to running smoothly might not be promised. Inconsistencies are always noticeable in dictatorship style of leadership.

      Like

Leave a comment